The Department of Conservation and Natural Resources is an executive and administrative department of the State of Alabama created by statute. The Commissioner, appointed by the Governor as a member of his cabinet, advises the Governor and Legislature on management of freshwater fish, wildlife, marine resources, state lands, state parks, and other natural resources. 

The Department has four divisions: Marine Resources, State Lands, State Parks and Wildlife and Freshwater Fisheries.

Christopher M. Blankenship (left) is the Commissioner of Conservation. He was appointed by Governor Kay Ivey in August 2017.

Edward F. Poolos is the Deputy Commissioner of Conservation. He was appointed by Governor Kay Ivey in October 2017.

Click here for department contact information

Click here for Advisory Board information

The Conservation Advisory Board, created by statute, is composed of 10 members appointed by the governor for alternating terms of six years, and three ex-officio members in the persons of the Governor, the Commissioner of Agriculture and Industries, and the Director of the Alabama Cooperative Extension System. The Commissioner of Conservation and Natural Resources serves as the ex-officio secretary of the board.

The Advisory Board assists in formulating policies for the Department of Conservation, examines all rules and regulations and makes recommendations for their change or amendment.  By a two-thirds vote of the members present and with the Governor’s approval, the board can amend, make any changes, repeal or create and promulgate additional rules and regulations. The Board also assists in publicizing the Department’s programs and activities.